The Kabul Times.

Presidential decrees introduce new IEC, IECC commissioners

g 1

KABUL: President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani in separate decrees introduced new commissioners for Independent Election Commission (IEC) and Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IECC) yesterday.
“Based on article 156 of the constitution and item 5 of article 13 of the new election law which was approved in line with the legislative decree of 346 on 12th February 2019, 14 individuals selected from 81 candidates that were introduced by the registered political parties and civil society organizations,” the decree said.
According to presidential decree the following commissioners were selected for the IEC: Sayed Esmatullah Mal, Mawlana Mohammad Abdullah, Awrang Zeb, Mohammad Hanif Daneshyar for the period of five years and Mosafer Qoqandi, Hawa Alam Nuristani and Rahima Zarifi for the period of three years.
The decree instructed the new commissioners to introduce the chairman and deputy of the commission in their first meeting and begin their activities in line with the constitution and available laws.
Meanwhile President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani in another decree appointed Habib-ul-Rahman Nang as the secretary of the IEC.
According to another report, President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani in a decree introduced the new commissioners for IECC, aiming to address the complaints and frauds related to the elections.
The decree introduced the following individuals as the new commissioners for the IECC: Mohammad Qasem Elyas, Zohra Bayan Shenwari and Mawlawi Deen Mohammad Azimi for the period of five years and Mohammad Younus Toghra and Sayed Qutbuddin Roydar for the period of three years.
The president in a separate decree introduced Chaman Shah Etemadi as the secretary of IECC.
The Kabul Times

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

The Kabul Times.